Changes to police rank structure


The SA Police Service (SAPS) will implement some changes in its rank structure as from June 1 with the most notable being the creation of a regional commissioner rank at lieutenant general level.

The country’s crime fighters will also find themselves with majors and lieutenants in future. Majors will become lieutenant colonels and lieutenants will become captains.

The full rank structure of the SAPS now is General (National Commissioner); Lieutenant General (Deputy National Commissioner, Divisional Commissioner, Regional Commissioner and Provincial Commissioner; Major General; Brigadier; Colonel; Lieutenant Colonel; Captain: Lieutenant; Warrant Officer; Sergeant and Constable.

The changes do not, reportedly, mean any changes in salary, particularly for majors and lieutenants who find themselves going up a rank.