Sword of Peace for 35 Squadron


The South African Air Force’s (SAAF’s) 35 Squadron based at Air Force Base Ysterplaat in Cape Town has won the SAAF Sword for Peace award for 2012/13. The award is presented to the squadron, unit or base that distinguishes itself in humanitarian service.

35 Squadron’s achievement will now take pride of place alongside gold and silver awards for the best flying units in the SAAF, including the silver award it received this year for being the second best flying unit.

The gold for the best flying unit was won by Air Force Base (AFB) Waterkloof’s 44 Squadron with 17 Squadron from nearby AFB Swartkop taking bronze honours.

Other top SAAF awards presented for the current financial year include Central Flying School Langebaanweg (training, to go with the Prestige Award), 85 Combat Flying School at AFB Makhado (aviation safety), 10 Air Depot at AFS Thaba Tshwane (safety, health, environment, risk and quality), 6 Air Servicing Unit at AFB Bloemspruit (servicing) and 506 Squadron at AFB Bloemspruit (protection).

Bushveld Airspace Control Sector was named best operational unit with 80 Air Navigation School at AFB Ysterplaat taking home the best training unit award and the SAAF Museum at AFB Swartkop earning the best general support unit award.

The best directorate award went to Basic Flying and Training with Aviation Aafety and Base Support Systems coming in second and third.