New SecDef appointed


Medical doctor Sam Makhudu Gulube is the new Secretary for Defence (SecDef). Cabinet spokesman Jimmy Manyi yesterday announced Gulube will serve as director general in the Department of Defence for five years. He replaces Mpumi Mpofu who resigned in mid-October.

Gulube was previously National Medical Director of the South African National Blood Services (SANBS), served in the Military Health Service and currently sits on Minister of Defence and Military Veterans Lindiwe Sisulu’s Defence Review committee (DRC).

The new SecDef completed his medical studies in the United States at Morehouse School of Medicine in Atlanta, Georgia in 1991. He did his General Surgery Residency Program at the University of South Florida in Tampa Florida from 1991 to 1996. In 1997 he was appointed a lieutenant colonel in the South African Military Health Services and served as General Surgery Principal Medical Officer at 1 Military Hospital in Pretoria. He led later the SAMHS’ Telemedicine project.

From the year 2000 to 2003 he was Director of the National Telemedicine Research Centre at the Medical Research Council (MRC) of South Africa. He served as the Chief Executive Officer of the Universal Service Agency of South Africa from April 2003 to April 2006. He joined the SANBS in May 2006.

He has also been chairman of the Presidential Medical Team, a Trustee of the SA Red Cross Air Mercy Service and a member of the Business Advisory Council of the United Nations Office for Project Services (UNOPS) and chairman of Medical Education for South African Blacks (MESAB) South Africa Trustees. He has also acted as advisor to Minister of State Security Siyabonga Cwele.

Gulube was appointed chairman of the Resource Group within the DRC in August.

Other appointments approved yesterday included the extension of the contract of Tshediso Matona as Director General of Public Enterprises for an additional three years (until 2015) and a new board for the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR): Prof Eugene Cloete, Bajabulile Tshabalala, Ghandi Badela, Prof T Nyokong, Dr Philip Hugh Goyns, Malebo Mabitje-Thompson, Phillip Benade, Mclean Sibanda, Prof Francis Petersen and Prof Mike Wingfield. All were appointed for a period of three years.