Job to stand down after 18 years as Reserve Force Council chairman


The terms of office of the six members of the Reserve Force Council (RFC), who have been in office for the past seven years, expires later this year and they have to be either replaced or have their terms renewed by SANDF Reserve Force members.

The current members are chairman Colonel (Dr) John Job, retired brigadier general Teddy Nqapayi, retired brigadier general John Del Monte, retired rear admiral Lukas Bakkes, Colonel Johnny Sexwale and Lieutenant Colonel Tom Seeta.

Their appointments were extended by former defence minister Mosiuoa Lekota in 2008 pending Ministerial approval of a new constitution for the RFC and drafting of regulations in terms of the Defence Act. This has now reached finality and the terms of office of the six have expired.

A spokesman for the RFC said nominees have been invited for new appointments to the Council to be announced by Defence and Military Veterans Minister Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula later this year.

Indications from RFC chairman Job are that some current members wish to retire after many years of service. Sitting members who want to be re-appointed also have to be nominated by RFC constituents – the regiments and units of the SANDF Reserve Force.

Nominees can be either serving members of a regiment or unit, regimental association or council or an honorary colonel.

In a message to the Reserve Force, Job, who has indicated he will not be available to serve again, said: “The RFC is the Reserve Force’s council and its renewal is important to SANDF Reserves. This makes Reserve Force members participation in the renewal process vital”.

Job is a co-founder of the RFC and has been a member for 23 years, 18 as chairman.

Nominations received will be tabled at the RFC annual general meeting on October 2. The names to be submitted to the Minister as well as a new chairman will be decided on during the meeting.