UN Security Council seat for Kenya


Kenya was elected a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council, defeating Djibouti for an African country designated seat.

UN member states chose the country in a second round of voting on Thursday in the General Assembly, with 192 ambassadors casting ballots during pre-determined time slots, due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The run-off took place a day after elections to select five new non-permanent members for the Council based on regional groupings.

Kenya and Djibouti both failed to secure the required two-thirds majority on Wednesday or 128 votes.

In the second round, Kenya received 129 votes and Djibouti 62.

Fifteen countries sit on the Security Council, the UN organ that maintains international peace and security.

Five are permanent members, with the right to veto resolutions: China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States.

Ten non-permanent members are elected by the General Assembly for two-year terms, with five elected each year.

Joining Kenya at the horseshoe-shaped table in January are India, Ireland, Mexico and Norway. Canada lost out on Wednesday in the other contested seat in the “Western Europe and other States” group.

They replace Belgium, Dominican Republic, Germany, Indonesia and South Africa.

Estonia, Niger, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Tunisia and Vietnam remain in the Council to the end of 2021.