Three African countries to go onto Trump travel ban list


The Trump administration plans to add seven countries – Belarus, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan and Tanzania – to its travel ban list according to US media reports.

Some countries will face bans only on specific visa categories, the Wall Street Journal reported. The list of countries was not final and could change, website Politico said.

President Donald Trump said in an interview with the Journal he was considering adding countries to the travel ban, but declined to state which ones. Politico said an announcement was expected next week.

The move is likely to sour ties between the US and countries affected under the expanded ban.

Nigeria, Africa’s largest economy and most populous country, is a US anti-terrorism partner with a large diaspora residing in the US.

A senior Trump administration official said countries failing to comply with security requirements, including biometrics, information sharing and counter-terrorism measures, faced the risk of limitations on US immigration.

The Department of Homeland Security did not immediately respond to requests for comment. The State Department declined to comment.

Under the current version of the ban, citizens of Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria and Yemen, as well as some Venezuelan officials and relatives are blocked from obtaining a range of US immigrant and non-immigrant visas.

Chad was under the ban but removed in April 2018.

Citizens of the countries can apply for waivers, but they are rare.