New board for AMD


The South African Aerospace, Maritime and Defence Industry Association (AMD) has announced a new board of directors and chairperson who will steer the industry body over the next couple of years.

AMD said the newly appointed board was elected at the recent AMD Annual General Meeting which took place on 14 June Aurecon’s facilities in Pretoria. The Board of Directors met on 21 June at the Special AMD Board meeting to elect the Chairperson, office bearers comprising the Vice Chairperson, Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer.

Florence Musengi is the new chairperson of AMD, replacing retired Brigadier General Damien de Lange. Musengi is from Floida Engineering Services, which caters to the aerospace and defence industry and specialises in radar and sensor technologies. Her previous experience includes positions at Saab and Reutech. She was Vice Chairperson of AMD since June 2016.

The new Board consists of members with experience in the aerospace and defence sector across various fields including business, finance, law and leadership. They are:

Ms Florence Musengi (Floida Engineering Services): Chairperson

Mr Petrus Pelser (Parsec): Vice Chairperson

Ms Sefale Montsi – Zuma (Damen Shipyards): Honorary Treasurer

Mr Simpiwe Balfour (Clearbec): Honorary Secretary

Ms Nana Sabelo (TUB): BEE, SMME, Skills Development Committee Chairperson

Lt Gen (ret) Carlo Gagiano (Paramount Group): Policy and Strategy Committee Chairperson

Ms Thabisa Mgwebi (Reutech): Marketing Committee Chairperson

Mr Themba Zwelibanzi (Denel): Arms Control Committee Chairperson

Ms Teresa De Risi (Denel Vehicle Systems): DIP/NIP Committee Chairperson

Mr Thivash Moodley (TMi Dynamatics): Risk and Audit Committee Chairperson

Mr Ben Ash (Hensoldt Optronics): Remuneration Committee Chairperson

Mr Mike Kgobe (Denel)

Mr Benny Jiyane (SVI Engineering)

Mr Cornelius Grundling (DCD Protected Mobility)

Mr Sihle Mayisela (Hensoldt Optronics)

Mr Tinus van Wyk (GEW Technologies)

Mr Peter van der Bijl (Reutech)

Mr Norbert Schulze (Rheinmetall Denel Munitions)

Mr Trevor Raman (Saab Grintek Defence)

Mr Thabo Mdluli (F & R Catai)

Ms Keobakile Mpolokeng (M-Tek)

Adm Jacobus Louw (ret) (MTU-SA)

Mr Hans Kriek (OTT Technologies)

Mr Rasheed Hargey (Tellumat)

Ms Nana Sabelo (TUB)

Mr George Chimbuzi (Thales SA Systems)

Brig Gen (ret) Damian de Lange (Twiga Services)

Mr Linda Moni (CSAS)

Dr Naledi Moyo (FMM)

AMD said the first board meeting with the newly elected members will take place on 19 July followed by a strategic planning session scheduled to take place on 30 August where the strategic goals for 2018 – 2020 will be formulated to ensure AMD’s continued value and relevance to the South African Defence Industry (SADI).

Several initiatives will be pursued, including operationalisation of the National Defence Industry Council (NDIC); Establishment of the Defence Industry Fund (DIF) and. getting the BEE Charter signed by the Department of Trade of Industry.

AMD said it will also expand its scope to include security and will strive to increase exports and improve stakeholder engagement.

In the 15th edition of the South African Defence Industry Directory for 2018-2019, Defence and Military Veterans Minister Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula stated that the industry “with the guidance and support of the SA government remains a non-aligned world class partner of choice that supplies equipment and services to the global defence community including multilateral organisations that are involved in peacekeeping operations, as well as countries seeking to equip their defence establishments in the aerospace, maritime and landward environments.
“As the defence community and specifically the defence industry, not only have we operationalised the National Defence Industry Council but we have drafted the SA Defence Industry Strategy as well as the SA Defence Industry Broad Based Black Economic Empowerment Charter both of which are in the final stages of approval by myself and the Minister of Trade and Industry respectively.”

AMD stated that although the South African defence industry is small compared to that of many other countries, it boasts a sophistication and scope that are quite remarkable. “Our members have capabilities that range across all system levels and include the engineering, design, prototyping, integration and testing of products in most defence fields. South Africa has excelled in developing innovative artillery systems and land vehicles, unmanned systems, aircraft, missiles and guided weapons, shipbuilding capabilities and naval craft to C4ISR, combat suites, radar systems, avionics, aero engines, sensors and nano-technology. In addition, our support capabilities, upgrades and life extensions, logistics, quality and configuration management, war gaming and simulation are second to none.
“These products and systems are now widely exported, generating foreign exchange and establishing global partnerships, and at the same time provide South Africa with strategic sovereign independence in defence capacity.”

AMD represents 90% of the industry, with 76 members, and “assists it to be profitable, sustainable and responsible.” Assistance includes working closely with the Department of Defence, hosting international delegations, bilateral committee meetings with foreign defence forces, facilitating international exhibition sponsorships through the Department of Trade and Industry and marketing the industry globally. AMD also assists with arms control permit applications and co-hosts the Africa Aerospace and Defence exhibition every two years.