Denel board members quit as new interim CEO announced


Four directors at Denel have resigned since the 21 January Annual General Meeting, while interim Group CEO Talib Sadik has resigned as the director of Denel after his acting GCEO contract ended.

This comes after Denel announced on 22 February that William Hlakoane was nominated by the Denel board to become the new interim Group CEO, with a six-month contract effective from Monday.

In a notice to the Johannesburg Stock Exchange on 22 February, Denel said General (Retired) Siphiwe Nyanda resigned from the Denel board effective 21 January 2021 while Kabelo Lehloenya resigned effective 14 January 2021.

Following Denel’s Annual General Meeting held on 29 January, Dr Sibusiso Sibisi resigned effective 16 February 2021 and Sue Rabkin resigned effective 18 February 2021.

Nyanda served as Chief of the South African National Defence Force from 1998 to 2005, and was subsequently Minister of Communications from 2009 to 2010. Rabkin was a former special adviser to the Minister of Defence. Sibisi was CEO of the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research from 2008 to 2017, and headed the University of the Witwatersrand’s Business School from the start of 2018 to the end of 2019.

Lehloenya had been the CFO of the Gauteng Department of Health – she resigned from that post in May 2020 and was subsequently entangled in the COVID-19 personal protective equipment (PPE) corruption scandal that rocked the department, Engineering News reported.