Cabinet appoints TIA board

Cabinet last week appointed Dr Mamphela Ramphele chairwoman of the Technology Innovation Agency (TIA).
The new government organisation was created through legislation introduced by the Department of Science and Technology to create income from state-funded research and development.
The executive also approved as board members: Hellen Brown, Cheryl Carolus, Dr Steven Cornelius, Prof Susan Harrison, Alan Lax, Dr Nhlanhla Msomi, Dr Patrick Ngwenya, Ross Norton and Gordon Venter.
The DST has previously said it hopes to have the TIA in business by July. The TIA was established under the Technology Innovation Agency Act that was signed into law by President Kgalema Motlanthe in November.
The legislation forms part of the DST’s 10-year innovation plan to promote innovation through the funding, support and commercialisation.

The new agency’s main objectives are to

·         stimulate the development of technology-based products, services and enterprises;
·         develop a technology base for the South African economy;
·         facilitate the development of human capital for innovation; and
·         provide the primary bridge between the formal knowledge base and the real economy.