Another Denel board member resigns


Denel has announced that non-executive director Hannelie Nel has resigned. She is the latest board member to resign from the troubled defence conglomerate.

In a notice to the Johannesburg Stock Exchange on 7 April, Denel said that Dr Hannelie Nel has resigned as an independent non-executive director and Chairperson of the Social and Ethics Committee, with effect from 31 March 2021. She joined the Denel board in June 2018.

Denel’s trials and tribulations have seen an exodus of directors, including chair Monhla Hlahla. Other directors who bailed from the Irene, Centurion, headquartered Denel board include former SA National Defence Force (SANDF) chief and past Minister of Communications Siphiwe Nyanda, Kabelo Lehloenya, Sibusiso Sibisi, Nonzukiso Siyotula and Sue Rabkin. Senior staffer Carmen Le Grange (chief financial officer) also submitted her resignation and left Denel on 27 March. She was replaced by Thandeka Sabela as acting Chief Financial Officer.