SAAF candidate officers passing out parade


The officer ranks of the SA Air Force (SAAF) have been boosted by 71 following a graduation and passing out parade at the SAAF College in Thaba Tshwane.

Six of those on course were singled out for further awards with the Air Squadron Sword of Honour going to CO LA Meyers. He told the SAAF publication Ad Astra the award was the result of 100% commitment with discipline always a key aspect.

Other awards were presented to CO MT Ganda (best male fittest soldier), CO MC Sekhu (best female fittest soldier), CO DT Chitima (best academic learner), CO N Forbes (Old Mutual Officership Floating Trophy) and CO LA Meyers, leadership floating trophy).

SAAF College instructor Warrant officer DM Daniels paid fitting tribute to the latest group to go through his capable hands when he said “their attitude was the driving force of how they do things”. He also complemented the group for making it through training that is tough, demanding and rewarding.

Awards were presented by SAAF Chief, Lieutenant General Zakes Msimang.